The Hawaiian IslandsThe Hawaiian Islands

The Big Island

To avoid confusion with the name of the entire state, the Island of Hawaii is often called the “The Big Island”.

The Big Island is the largest island in the Hawaiian archipelago.

It has 11 different micro climates, ranging from wet tropical to polar tundra!

The diverse terrain spans green and black coloured sand beaches to lush rainforest, and within the Volcanoes National Park, there are 2 active volcanoes(Kilauea and Mauna Loa). In the west Hapuna Beach and Kahalu'u Beach Park are popular snorkeling sites. On 'The Big Island' you can see molten lava, green rainforests, snow capped mountains, and golden beaches- all in one day! 

You will also find sacred Hawaiian historical sites, from the birthplace of King Kamehameha I to Hawaii’s first missionary church in Historic Kailua Village (Kailua-Kona). On the west coast there are a number of high end resorts, and no visit should miss a trip to the old town at Kona where dining and shopping on the ocean front are very popular. 

Historic Hawaiian site on The Big IslandHistoric Hawaiian site on The Big Island

'The Big Island' is also renowned for it's golf!

Golf on The Big Island

Mauna Kea GC- the famous 3rd holeMauna Kea GC- the famous 3rd hole

There are seventeen courses on The Big Island, a mix of very private clubs, resort, and public access courses. They include:


1. Mauna Kea GC

2. Hapuna GC

3. Mauna Lani Resort- North Course

4. Mauna Lani Resort- South Course

5. Nanea GC

6. Kohanaiki GC

7. Waikoloa Beach Resort- Beach Course

8. Waikoloa Beach Resort- King' Course

9. Hualalai GC


For further information please enquire here: